jump to navigation

Back From Taiwan April 4, 2007

Posted by jyu in Uncategorized.
trackback
Angela finally completely her wedding banquets.  Grandpa couldn’t even remember me now.  Auntie had a stroke and is half-sided numbness.  Sansan is taller than me now.  Uncle is thinking about filing a divorce during a proposed marriage for his first daughter. 

It’s nice to be able to enjoy the food I miss so much, spend money shopping, see friends and relatives back home.  However, the trip makes me feel physically and mentally old.  Life in Taiwan seems to take its own steps moving in different directions during my absence.  All the changes hit me at once after all these years.  It’s hard to take it all at once.  Worst of all, there is nothing I can do about it.

Getting back to Dallas, dealing with jet lag, cumulated work and school, there is a corner inside the heart filling with sadness and won’t go away.  The brain constantly flashes with images from the trip.  Am I too selfish all these years?  Am I escaping family responsibilities for too long? 

Brother said to me, “wealth can be monetary or mentally depending on your definition.  You can make a lot of money in US, but if you consider family part of your wealth then there is a trade off between earnings and being with your family.”

Trade-off…

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

