jump to navigation

A coming up wedding… March 15, 2006

Posted by jyu in Uncategorized.
trackback

Marina is getting married this summer. A cute ring and a happy face out of her.  I am really happy for her.  They look cute together.

I hope she doesn’t invite me to go to the wedding.  It’s really not fun anymore for a single girl over 30 with no boyfriend, no husband, and no kids to go to a wedding ceremony.  I mean, it’s nice to be involved in a happy moment.  In reality, it’s really a tortue.  Deep inside myself, I will be crying miserablly, but still have to put a good smile out.  It’s like “Fine, I know I am a loser. But do I have to go out there to prove it to myself again and again.”    

It’s even worse when you receive questions like “do you have a boyfriend?” “why don’t you get married?”  “why don’t you quit your PHD and find a husband to get married?” “you are not young anymore and you need to make some progress on getting married?” 

It’s like a huge crime to be a single woman in this society.  I mean, give me a break.  If I know why I am not married, I won’t be single.  Quiting the PHD doesn’t guarantee a husband.  And thanks very much for reminding me that I am “OLD.”

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

